Social and ecological devastation in southwestern Italy

ZSplash Forums State of the World Social and ecological devastation in southwestern Italy

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  ganzo 6 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

ganzo
    Participant

First, I’d like to apologize for the inadequacy of the text that follows. I’m a student, English is not my first language and you don’t learn it too well at school.

You might have heard about the rubbish crisis that repeatedly hit Naples and the surrounding area in the decade 2000-2010 — with trash uncollected for weeks rotting in the street, people setting fire to it in desperation, sewage rats, episodes of violence and a horrible stench difficult to imagine.
    However indecent it may look from the outside, the urban waste problem is actually part of a broader and equally dirty context involving political administration and criminal activities.
    In Campania (the region to which Naples belong, second in Italy for population) waste disposal has for a long time been infiltrated by criminal groups (clans of the mafia-style organization called camorra) and has become a major criminal business since the late 80s-early 90s. In that period (thanks to political complicities of all sorts) Campania became the destination of thousands of tons industrial and toxic waste products (mainly from northern Italy, but presumably also from abroad), which were then dumped into the ground or burned so as to get rid of them as quickly as possible — an extralegal system that allowed industries doing business with camorra to save up to 90% of waste material elimination costs.
    After intense activity in the first years this practice has slowed down but continued to this day. The local population (excluding the ones that were corresponsible and even received small shares of the profits) was reduced to silence through intimidation and State authorities didn’t interfere.